Soil and Water Conservation District

The Vigo County Soil and Water Conservation District, or SWCD,  provides information about soil, water, and related natural resource conservation.  We identify and prioritize local soil and water resource concerns, and connect land users to sources of education, technical, and financial assistance, and to implement conservation practices and technologies.

The Vigo County Soil and Water Conservation District was officially organized by landowners on January 23, 1950. The District is a sub-division for the State of Indiana and is responsible for soil and water conservation activities in Vigo County. The District is governed by a five member Board of Supervisors. These supervisors serve without pay for the betterment of Vigo County.

Current supervisors are:

  • Phil Carter, Chairman
  • Casey Evans, Vice Chairman
  • Ethan Wyrick, Treasurer
  • Clint Wiley, Secretary
  • Jeremy Sporer, Member

Our Staff are Brendan Kearns, Executive Director.  Rhonda Coombs, Urban Conservationist and Laura Tohill, Administrative Assistant.

While we are usually out-and-about in the county, our office is in the USDA Service Center located at 3241 S 3rd Place in Honey Creek West.  Just West of the mall.  Hours are Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.  Hours can be inconsistent due to operating “in the field”, training and education programs.  We highly recommend calling before the visit.  Our email is easy, SWCD@VigoCounty.IN.Gov
We also serve as the MS4 department for Vigo County.  To reach us for MS4 information, simply email 

Check out our Facebook Page Vigo County Soil and Water Conservation District for current updates.